Carrot Top Pesto

I’m growing rainbow carrots this year. The tops are greater in mass than the roots. So I’ve been working on things to do with the greens. This is by far the smartest thing I’ve come up with and it really celebrates carrot greens as a food rather than a garnish.

I used the greens from 5 big carrots. After everything was washed very well, the thick stems trimmed, and just the leafy greens used, I had about 5 handfuls or 4 cups.

In the food processor:

1/2 Cup chopped pecans
1/2 Cup quality olive oil
juice from 1 lemon (this helps the pesto retain color and develops the flavor)
2 TB sea salt

Then I added the greens 1 handful at a time and processed until smooth.

With the last handful, I added 1/4 C water. You can add more olive instead of water if you want a richer oil flavor. I used the water because I like it better.

Yield: 1 pint.

Thanks to my mother in law for sending pecans from South Georgia.

Published in: on July 20, 2011 at 9:48 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://daniellecooks.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/carrot-top-pesto/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. YUM!!!!

  2. So cool!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

