Spicy Sesame Kale Chips

My favorite snack.

1 lb Kale

Wash the kale very well. Sand in your kale is not delicious. Pull or cut leaf from ribs and make into chip-sized pieces.

IMG_2527

Save ribs for stock or doggie treats. Shake kale dry. You don’t need to run it through the salad spinner. A little extra moisture on the leaves will be fine in the marinade.

In a gallon sized freezer bag, mix marinade.

2 TB crushed red pepper flakes

6 TB nutritional yeast

Nutritional Yeast

Nutritional Yeast

2 tsp soy sauce

1 tsp salt

3 TB sesame oil

2 TB water

Shove all the kale in the bag and zip closed. Massage the leaves very well to coat evenly with seasoning.  Lay out on dehydrator trays. 1 lb of kale usually requires 4 trays.

Seasoned Kale on Dehydrator Tray

Seasoned Kale on Dehydrator Tray

Dehydrate 8 hours at 110 degrees. Store in an air tight container.

Feed kale ribs to dogs since they are whining in the kitchen.

Geez I’m a push over…

My Dogs REALLY love kale “bones.” Yup, I’m one of those tacky people who dotes on her dogs even though this blog has nothing to do with dogs.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daniellecooks.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/spicy-sesame-kale-chips/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. where does one get a dehydrator? how much does it cost and if you are unskilled at cooking/broke can you just leave them out for a bit and them pop them on a cookie tray? that’s what i do with my normal kale chips… could you use a hair dryer? hmm…

    • I use a dehydrator to keep the enzymes in tact. Enzymes break down over 140 degrees F. You can bake these in an oven. Then these chips are a “cooked” food instead of a “raw” food. These chips are very easy to make, so the only skill you need is the ability to massage a bag of kale. Think of it as playing with a stress ball.

      Dehydrators vary in capacity and functionality but they operate on the same principle: low temp moving air. I have a really high end one (because I really do use it constantly) made by Excalibur http://www.excaliburdehydrator.com/about.htm with a heat control and timer. Not a cheap appliance. But it is well made and I use it to make so many things we eat every day.

      You cannot use a hair dryer to make kale chips, but you can make sun dried tomatoes in a hot car! Slice cherry tomatoes in half, spread out on a cookie sheet, season with basil and salt, and sit them in your dash board in the sun with the windows rolled up. Turn your car into a solar oven. Works best in June and July. Mmmm….

  2. I know I’m going to break down and get a dehydrator just to make things like this; I’ve been saying for years I want/need one, but I don’t have the counter space. (tiny kitchen)

    Lizita, when I was out just now I saw a 4 oz bag of kale chips for $8.99; a dehydrator pays for itself very quickly in terms of food you can make raw with one. I’ve been saying for years I need one.

  3. How spicy does this turn out? I see red pepper flakes and get a little scared. Do you have a recipe that isn’t spicy? And thank you so much for spreading the healthy dog tips! My two lil’ cuties are definitely going to get the kale ribs for now on!

    • You can leave out the pepper flakes all together. Sub in 1 tsp black pepper to bring out the natural flavor of the kale. Some of us are insane for the hot food!


Leave a Reply

